By Bennie Mundando

THE Jesuit Centre for Theological Reflection (JCTR) says it has learnt with utmost shock of the death of its immediate past Executive Director Father Emmanuel Mumba.

Fr. Mumba passed away yesterday after a long battle with cancer.

JCTR Executive Director Alex Muyebe has extended heartfelt condolences to the Catholic community in Zambia, and in particular to the Jesuit community in Zambia and Malawi where Fr. Mumba had dedicated his service as the Provincial for the Zambia – Malawi Jesuit Province and also as the Executive Director at JCTR.

Father Muyebe says Fr. Mumba had a passion for the poor. Upon assuming office at JCTR, and considering the gravity of poverty in the country, Fr. Mumba frequently engaged politicians both from the opposition and the ruling parties to bring to their attention the plight of the poor and vulnerable people in our society.

He has described Fr. Mumba as a fearless, open, and frank individual but that when it came to dealing with both individuals and politicians, he did it softly, calmly but still driving his point.

He says Fr. Mumba was also an easily approachable person and that this attribute helped him to easily relate and form warm relations and work well with his staff at JCTR and with other partners in the operational environment.

“Fr. Mumba was a resilient person who did not allow personal challenges to get in the way of his ministering to the people of God. He made every effort to live up to the Jesuit spirituality of the magis (a Latin word that means “more” or “greater”.  Magis refers to the philosophy of doing more for Christ, and therefore doing more for others.

“He was a humble person who never flaunted his academic achievements.  He enjoyed parish work, especially at Matero Parish where he served for over 10 years,” Fr. Muyebe said

Fr. Mumba was appointed JCTR Executive Director in 2017.  He served in this position until 2019 when he became unwell.  Prior to his appointment as JCTR Executive Director, Fr. Mumba served as JCTR Board Chairperson from 2011 to 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *